MRCS Exam Eligibility: Be Mindful of The Criteria Before Applying

Sun 11, 2023
Home MRCS Exam Eligibility: Be Mindful of The Criteria Before Applying

The Criteria to Fulfil for Sitting the MRCS Exam
The Intercollegiate Membership exam of the Royal College of Surgeons evaluates the knowledge, experience, and clinical competence that doctors should possess at the end of their core surgical training.
Besides, the membership can be acquired from any of the Royal Colleges. You will find here the various MRCS Exam Eligibility criteria for aspiring medical candidates. Read on.
The MRCS examination syllabus and the format and content of this examination are common to all four colleges. Furthermore, they are Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh, Royal College of Surgeons of England, Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Glasgow, and Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland.
In addition, candidates can enter any part of the examination through any college. However, you may enter with only one college at each sitting. Completion of MRCS will further allow you to work in the UK from ST3 level upward (ST3+). Lastly, seniority beyond ST3 level is dependent on experience.
On successful completion of all parts of the examination, candidates will be elected as members of the college for which they have passed Part B of the exam. In addition, MRCS is one of the two routes an overseas doctor can take full GMC registration.

MRCS Exam Structure and Content
The MRCS exam is split into two parts.
MRCS Part A is a written examination and MRCS Part B is an Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE).

MRCS Exam Eligibility
International Medical Graduates (IMGS) from any country in the world can attempt the MRCS examinations. They just further need to meet certain eligibility criteria.

The candidate must hold a Primary Medical Qualification (PMQ) that is recognised by the GMC for registration purposes. This will make the candidate eligible for sitting this exam.

The candidate must pass Part A before applying for Part B. You can attempt Part A of the exam six times, and Part B four times.
MRCS Part A and B can be taken in several countries across the world, with locations in the UK, Africa, Asia, Middle East, Central Asia and Europe. Hope you found this information helpful. Enrol in an MRCS course today and kick-start your career in surgery. Good luck!

By : admin

Signup for Newsletters

Subscribe to StudyMEDIC Newsletters & stay informed